Polly Parsons

Polly Parsons, MD, ATSF


American Thoracic Society


Polly Parsons, MD, ATSF was installed as president for the 2018-2019 term. Dr. Parsons is Professor of Medicine and the E. L. Amidon Chair of the department of medicine at the University of Vermont.

Dr. Parsons has long standing interests in research, education, and patient care. Her specific area of research focus is acute lung injury and critical illness. Her work has been supported by grants from the NIH, and she has served on several research review and advisory committees, including the National Heart Lung and Blood Scientific Advisory Council, NHLBI Clinical Trials Review Committee, the FDA Pulmonary and Allergy Drug Advisory Committee, and the Scientific Council of the Francis Families Foundation.

A member of the ATS since 1989, Dr. Parsons has served as a member of several committees. In 2006, she received the Elizabeth A. Rich Award, and in 2017, the ATS Assembly on Critical Care 9th Annual Lifetime Achievement Award. Dr. Parsons was one of the inaugural ATS Fellows in 2018.